Deploying the command files package to client computers for use during a backup
When you select the option Use command file package to deliver command files to the local machine to create an advanced backup policy that uses command files, you need to deploy the Veritas System Recovery Command File Delivery package to client computers.
Table: Command Files Settings options
| Option | Description |
| Use command file package to deliver command files to the local machine | Indicates if you intend to deploy the Veritas System Recovery command file package that is stored on the Notification Server computer. |
| | When you deselect this option, you can specify a folder on a network share where the command files are stored for deployment. |
| Command files folder | Lets you specify the location of command files if you want them to be located in a place other than the default location. You can also specify a location on a per-job basis, as well as specify a location that can be shared among several computers. If you specify a network location, you are prompted for network credentials. |
| User name | Lets you specify the user name to a command file folder that is located in a network path. |
| Password | Lets you specify the password to a command file folder that is located in a network path. |
| Confirm password | Lets you retype the password to a command file folder that is located in a network path. |
| Run before snapshot creation | Lets you run a command file after a backup has started and before a recovery point is created. You can run a command during this stage to prepare for the recovery point creation process. For example, you can close any open applications that use the drive. |
| | Note: If you use this option, be sure that the command file has an error recovery mechanism built into it. If the computer has one or more services that must be stopped at this stage (such as stopping a non-VSS aware database or a resource-intensive application), and the command file does not contain any form of error recovery, one or more of the stopped services may not be restarted. An error in the command file can cause the recovery point creation process to stop immediately. No other command files can run. |
| Run after snapshot creation | Lets you run a command file after a snapshot is created. Running a command during this stage is a safe point for allowing services to resume normal activity on the drive while continuing the recovery point creation. |
| | Because the snapshot takes only a few seconds to create, the database is in the backup state momentarily. A minimal number of log files are created. |
| Run after recovery point creation | Lets you run a command file after the recovery point file is created. You can run a command during this stage to act on the recovery point itself. For example, you can copy it to an offline location. |
| Timeout (applies to each stage) | Lets you specify the amount of time (in seconds) that a command file is allowed to run. |
To deploy the command files package to client computers for use during a backup
-
On the Veritas System Recovery 18 Management Solution Packages and Policies tab, in the Install Policies ** list in the left pane, under Command Files, clickInstall Files for all Backup Policies**.
-
In the right pane, near the upper-right corner, click On from the list to enable the software delivery policy.
-
Set the deployment options.| Program name | Identifies the name of the program that you want to run. || Enable Verbose Reporting of Status Events | Sends the plug-in status events to the Notification Server computer. || Applied to | Identifies the resource target to which you want the software task applied. || Package multicast | Lets you uncheck (default) this option if you want to enable package multicast when the Symantec Management Agent's multicast option is disabled. || Schedule | Runs the software task either at a specific start time, or at specified start, end, and duration times. || | You can specify as many schedules as you need. You can also have any number of schedules active at once. |
-
Click Save changes.