About deleting recovery points
If you no longer want a particular set of recovery points you can delete the set at any time. Deleting recovery point sets is particularly useful if you want to prevent an accumulation of obsolete backup data at the destination. After you delete a recovery point set, access to files or system recovery from that point in time is no longer available.
You can also reduce the amount of needed storage space for the recovery point set by deleting multiple incremental recovery points within a set. The base recovery point and the first and last incremental recovery points are required for a restore and cannot be deleted. Deleting incremental recovery points within a set consolidates the data only; it does not delete data.
Depending on the number of incremental recovery points that you delete, additional memory may be required to restore or browse a consolidated incremental recovery point. Additionally, when you delete recovery points over the network, network traffic may increase significantly.
Note: Be careful about which recovery points you choose to delete. For example, suppose a user created a new document that was captured in the third recovery point in your recovery points list. The remote user deletes the file accidentally, at which time the fourth recovery point captures the deletion. The user could lose the file permanently if you delete the third recovery point.